University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota LibrariesOnline Finding Aids
space Home | About Us | Search Tips | Finding Aids FAQ | View Basket |
Outline View
Data Processing Management Association Records, 1950-1993. Finding Aid.
 Location  Title
 
Camp Icaghowan  
Biographical/History note Recognizing the importance of camping and exercise as a method of moral formation in young men and boys, the first Minneapolis YMCA-owned resident camp, Camp Icaghowan opened in 1908, one of the first organized boys camp projects in the state of Minnesota. Located on five acres on Green Lake near Chisago City, Minnesota, Icaghowan ("eye-KAH-goh-wahn") of Lakota origin means "To Grow in Every Way." Camp Icaghowan was designed to serve boys living in the downtown, northeast, southeast, south central, and south town areas in the Minneapolis area. Recognizing limitations within each of these communities, scholarship assistance from other groups such as the Rotary, Y's Men's clubs, and individuals provided financial assistance for those who would otherwise be unable to afford a summer camping experience.The first campers stayed in simple tents without floors or cots, used a small cook shack for meals, and ate in an adjacent tent. Some camping equipment was purchased, and a dining hall was erected in the first couple of seasons. Additional improvements were made every season, including an enlarged dining hall, a well, and a headquarters building. By the 1915-1916 summer seasons, four camp sessions of two weeks each were conducted with a total attendance of 103 boys. W.G.Cartlich, the boys' work secretary became the first camp director. In 1916, money was allocated from the 1916 YMCA Minneapolis building campaign to buy an additional ten acres adjoining the first purchase along the lake front. More equipment was purchased. The following year, tents began to be replaced with more durable shelters. A Director's cottage was built and a new foundation for the existing dining hall was put in, with an addition to the east side of the building to provide for a proper kitchen and quarters for the cook. New steps to the lake shore were added, among many other improvements.Christian fellowship had always been a focal point at Camp Icaghowan, with daily Bible study classes, evening tent devotions, and Sunday services. The spirit of the camp was summed up in 1940 as "growth, fair play, fun, and friendship, all based on the ideals and character of the Master, Jesus Christ." In 1947, the site provided a camping experience to almost 400 boys on an expanded 29 acres. A garden developed and maintained added to the urban-campers experience while also contributing to the meals served to campers. By 1948, the camp had expanded to consist of: a dining hall with kitchen, an old log lodge, a craft shop, infirmary, director's cabin with four rooms, cook's cabin, headquarters building, ten permanently constructed tent houses, two small storage buildings, two bathroom houses with running water, and a pump house. Beyond the in-camp experience, Camp Icaghowan also provided beyond-camp excursions for those who wished a more rugged, on-the-trail camping experience, usually involving canoeing and/or backpacking.Recognizing the limitations of the existing camp site after 41 years, including encroaching development, an exhaustive search lasting five years was conducted to find a new site for Camp Icaghowan. The camp had been enlarged piecemeal to accommodate the growing program, but by 1945 the existing lodge, built to accommodate 36 boys plus staff, was housing almost 100 people, using the same mess hall built in 1908. In 1948, Icaghowan moved to a new site of 113 acres on Lake Wappogassett near Amery, Wisconsin. The land was purchased from the estate of Bob Wallace (of the Wallace Reader's Digest family), past president of Macalester college. Lyndon F. Cedarblade, city-wide program secretary wrote of the land, "This beautifully wooded tract, 35 acres of which is a peninsula, will be an ideal place on which to build a fine summer camp for boys. The increased capacity will permit serving a minimum of 550 boys each summer." Camp construction included eight cabins with fireplaces, a dining hall, toilets, a well, showers by the beach, and a building devoted for staff. The waterfront and docks were constructed at a later date.On July 31, 1949, the new Camp Icaogowan was officially dedicated. The program included hymns, prayer, remarks by Charles W. Drew, the Dedication Committee Chairman, greetings from the Amery Mayor, words from Chiver S. Aas, chairman of the Camp Icaghowan committee, Harper Clesen, General Secretary of the YMCA Minneapolis, Malcolm McDonald, President, and concluded with the traditional song "Dear Old Icaghowan." While Minnesota Governor Youngdahl was invited, his schedule precluded attendance. In early August of that same year, the flagpole and flag presentation ceremony occurred, dedicated to a youth counselor who was killed in World War II, "the sacred memory of John H. Lindberg, who in war and peace served God and his fellowmen in Christian love and devotion." Improvements and additions to the camping experience at Icaoghowan continued in the following decades, including a new pier donated by the metro group, Y's Men in 1952. A health services department and an addition to the Director's cabin were completed in 1953, followed by three more cabins and a waterfront building constructed in 1956. The lodge basement was also finished this year. A new updated camp entrance designed in 1957 added to the highly visible improvements. In 1963, 49 acres were donated, known within the organization as "the secret", and used for camping excursions beyond the main camp site.The sailing program at Icagowan grew to six boats in the fleet and many campers qualifying as "skippers" by 1967, despite previous barriers to the program. The oldest bell (1894) in the Amery area was erected at Icaghowan in 1967, with over 105 residents gathering at the camp to celebrate the occasion. Between 1969-1971, significant improvements and renovations were completed, including a new residence, remodeling of the camp kitchen, new beds, mattresses, and floors in cabins, among others. Much-needed new boat motors were donated for camper enjoyment for many subsequent summers. Additional preparations and renovations for winter camping were completed. In 1970, girls are integrated into the Minneapolis YMCA Camp programs, "in order to meet the growing need for service to the total family." In the 1972 annual meeting of sustaining members of Camp Icaghowan, it was noted that "the successful venture of a co-ed camp continued to be a source of satisfaction... We saw more interest in joint activities and more acceptance of the shared use of the same site." Weekend family camping also became a focus during the 1969-1979 decade at Icaoghowan, with a growing number of multi-cultural and single parent families participating in the program. A new passenger van was donated to the camp in 1973, and a new camp truck was purchased in 1974. New ceilings in the dining hall and lodge were added in 1977, as well as a new storage shed by the kitchen was constructed. In 1980, the camp kitchens were once again remodeled, followed by the renovations to the staff cabin in 1981.Throughout Camp Icaghowan's history, programming and camp amenities have continued to evolve to meet the changing needs of the communities the YMCA Minneapolis serves. The camp remains a vital component to the YMCA Minneapolis organization.
Box 137
Annual Reports, 1966-1973.  Box 137
 
Board Materials:  
Box 137
Board, 1970-1980, 1995-1997. ( 2 folders. )  Box 137
 
Board Minutes, 1993-1995. ( 3 folders. )  Box 137
 
Board of Management, 1989-1996. ( 2 folders. )  Box 137
Box 111
Emily's Board Binder: Community Development Board, 2002-2004. ( 3 folders. )  Box 111
Box 49
Budget Hearing Materials, 1973.  Box 49
Box 77
Camp Icaghowan, 1930.  Box 77
Box 137
Camp Icaghowan Article, 1977.  Box 137
Note  Article from the Chisago Pioneer about Camp Icaghowan in the 1920s
 
Campers:  
Box 38
Campers, 1981-1987. ( 5 folders. )  Box 38
 
Campers Years Attended, 1910-1959. ( 2 folders. )  Box 38
Box 137
Camper Lists, 1928-1939.  Box 137
Note  Lack 1934, 1936
 
Camper Lists, 1960-1967.  Box 137
Note  Lack 1962
Box 138
Southeast Campers, 1926-1944.  Box 138
 
Capital Campaigns:  
Box 137
Capital Campaign, 1995.  Box 137
 
Covenant with Tomorrow Capital Campaign, 1980. ( 2 folders. )  Box 137
Box 138
Y Partners, 2001.  Box 138
 
Facilities:  
Box 137
Architect, 1947-1949.  Box 137
 
Building Specifications, 1947-1954. ( 2 folders. )  Box 137
Box 138
Historical Construction Minutes and Records, 1943-1949. ( 2 folders. )  Box 138
 
Maps and Property, 1940-1970.  Box 138
 
Wallace Property Use Agreement, 1970s.  Box 138
Box 137
Five Year Plan, 1989-1994.  Box 137
Box 50
Hotel Register, 1919. ( 1 volume. )  Box 50
Box 137
Miscellaneous Historical Material, 1920s-1992. ( 2 folders. )  Box 137
Note  Includes Brochure, Articles, Newsletters, Scrapbooks Camp Icaghowan 1977, 1978 yearbook, Icaghowan booklet from 1957 (contains brief history, daily schedules), Icaghowan camp songs, brochure about the Sig Christensen Craft Building Dedication, Booklets created by camp staff from the 1920s
Box 56
Miscellaneous Historical Papers, 1955-1977.  Box 56
Box 138
Song Manual Southeast Period, 1921.  Box 138
 
Southeast Y's Men, 1947-1962.  Box 138
Note  Lists of names
 
Staff:  
Box 138
Staff Dinners and Reunions, 1970s.  Box 138
 
Staff Records, 1963, 1966-1969.  Box 138
 
Staff Records, 1970,1972-1974.  Box 138
 
Staff Roster, 1948.  Box 138
 
Summer Staff Positions, 1950-1960, 1970.  Box 138
 
Union State Bank Account, 1960-1979.  Box 138
 
Youth Citizen, 1970.  Box 138